May 27, 2023


For all the latest football news, transfer news, football facts and other sports.

Alexia Putellas wins second successive women’s Ballon d’Or

1 min read

Spanish player Alexia Putellas won the women’s Ballon d’Or for the second straight year on Monday following another outstanding season with Barcelona.

Putellas scored 42 goals and delivered 22 assists last season. She became the first player to win the award twice.

With Barelona, she won the Spanish League and reached the Champions League final.

Putellas beat out Beth Mead and Sam Kerr for the award voted on by a panel of international journalists.

Awarded by France Football magazine, the Ballon d’Or has been given out to men every year since 1956 when Stanley Matthews won. The women’s trophy was created in 2018, and both were canceled in 2020 because of the pandemic.

For the first time this year, the Ballon d’Or was based on achievements from the past season. It was previously awarded based on performances throughout calendar years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *