June 6, 2023


For all the latest football news, transfer news, football facts and other sports.

Ballon d’Or 2022: Sam Kerr, Beth Mead, Ada Hegerberg and Oshoala all earn nominations for women’s Ballon d’Or award

2 min read

The Ballon d’Or Feminin, the top individual prize in women’s football, is in it’s fifth year after first being awarded by France Football in 2018.

Ada Hegerberg was the winner on that occasion, with Alexia Putellas the last recipient in 2021. Megan Rapinoe has also received the honour, while no trophy was presented in 2020.

The 2022 ceremony when the winner will be revealed isn’t until October, but the Ballon d’Or has actually changed a little this year and for the first time is being awarded based on a full season rather than a calendar year as has usually been the case.

Over the course of the 2021/22 season, Lyon restored their status as queens of Europe in the Champions League, while Barcelona reached another final. Euro 2022, which was won by England, has also had an major impact on the nominations.

2022 Ballon d’Or Feminin shortlist

  • Selma Bacha (Lyon & France)
  • Fridolina Rolfo (Barcelona & Sweden)
  • Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal & Netherlands)
  • Lucy Bronze (Barcelona & England)
  • Sam Kerr (Chelsea & Australia)
  • Christiane Endler (Lyon & Chile)
  • Lena Oberdorf (Wolfsburg & Germany)
  • Kadidiatou Diani (Paris Saint-Germain & France)
  • Catarina Macario (Lyon & USA)
  • Alexia Putellas (Barcelona & Spain)
  • Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg & Germany)
  • Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona & Spain)
  • Wendie Renard (Lyon & France)
  • Alex Morgan (San Diego Wave & USA)
  • Beth Mead (Arsenal & England)
  • Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona & Nigeria)
  • Marie Antoinette Katoto (Paris Saint-Germain & France)
  • Millie Bright (Chelsea & England)
  • Trinity Rodman (Washington Spirit & USA)
  • Ada Hegerberg (Lyon & Norway)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *