October 28, 2021


For all the latest football news, transfer news, football facts and other sports.

Ballon d’Or nominees revealed

2 min read

Premier League players dominate the Ballon d’Or 30-man shortlist for this year’s Ballon d’Or nominees list, as 14 stars from England’s top flight battle for football’s most prestigious prize.

Chelsea are the joint-most represented Premier League club with five nominees, after their Champions League win under Thomas Tuchel. Cesar Azpilicueta, Jorginho, N’Golo Kante and Mason Mount are all nominated, along with Romelu Lukaku, who won the Serie A title with Inter Milan before moving to Chelsea in the summer.

The award – given to the best footballer of the year was cancelled last year due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Lionel Messi won the men’s award in 2019, seeing off Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk and Manchester United’s Cristiano Ronaldo to the prize, the sixth time he has won the Ballon d’Or.

Ballon d’Or shortlist

Cesar Azpilicueta, Barella, Benzema, Bonucci, Kevin de Bruyne, Chiellini, C.Ronaldo, Dias, Donnarumma, B.Fernandes, Foden, Haaland, Jorginho, Kane, Kanté, Kjaer, Lewandowski, Lukaku, Mahrez, L.Martinez, Mbappé, Messi, Modric, Gerard Moreno, Mason Mount, Neymar, Pedri, Salah, Sterling, Suarez.

Players nominated from the Premier League include: Cesar Azpilicueta, Kevin de Bruyne, Cristiano Ronaldo, Ruben Dias, Mason Mount, Phil Foden, Bruno Fernandes, Jorginho, Raheem Sterling, Harry Kane, N’Golo Kante, Romelu Lukaku and Riyad Mahrez. 

Nicolas Barella, Leonardo Bonucci, Giorgio Chiellini, Simon Kjaer and Lautaro Martinez all represent Serie A on the list. 

Paris Saint-Germain enjoyed a strong summer transfer window and two of their newest recruits make the shortlist, including Messi, Gianluigi Donnarumma, Neymar and Kylian Mbappe.

Three players represent LaLiga, and they are Karim Benzema, Luka Modric and Gerard Moreno, while Robert Lewandowski and Erling Haaland are the only Bundesliga stars to make it to the list. 

There is also significant Premier League presence among the Yachine Trophy nominees for the best goalkeeper.

The Yachine Trophy which would be presented to the best male Goal Keeper included a 10-man shortlist which includes:

Gianluigi Donnarumma
Kasper Schmeichel
Edouard Mendy
Thibaut Courtois
Keylor Navas
Emiliano Martinez
Manuel Neuer
Jan Oblak
Samir Handanovic

The 10-player shortlist for the Kopa Trophy – awarded to the best male player under the age of 21 – has also been unveiled, with three England stars featuring. The full list includes:

Mason Greenwood
Bukayo Saka
Jérémy Doku
Ryan Gravenberch
Jamal Musiala
Florian Wirtz
Jude Bellingham
Giovanni Reyna
Nuno Mendes

The winners will be announced in Paris on November 29.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *