January 26, 2022


For all the latest football news, transfer news, football facts and other sports.

Brief History Of The English Premier League

2 min read

The Premier League, also known as the English Premier League (EPL) or the Football Association Premier League Limited, is the Apex degree of the EFL system.

With 20 clubs participating in it, it runs on a system of promotion and relegation with the English Football League (EFL). Season matches run from August to May with each team playing a total of 38 matches (playing all 19 other teams both home and away). Majority of these games are played on Saturday and Sunday afternoons.

The competition was founded as the FA Premier League on 20th February 1992 succeeding the decision of the clubs in the football league’s first division to break away from the Football League, which was founded in 1888, and turn to good with a lucrative television rights sale to Sky.

From 2019-2020, the league’s cumulative of the television rights deal were worth around £3.1 billion per year, with BT group and Sky acquiring the domestic rights to broadcast 128 and 32 games respectively.

The Chief executive of the Premier League, Richard Masters is responsible for its management whilst the member clubs function as shareholders. Clubs were allowed Central payment revenues of £2.4 billion in 2016-2017, with an additional £343 million in solidarity payments to English Football League (EFL) clubs.

The Premier League is currently the sports league with the most viewership, broadcasts in over 212 territories to 643 homes and a latent TV audience of 4.7 billion people.

The 2018/2019 season mean Premier League match attendance was at 38,181, succeeding the Bundesliga’s 43,500, while grand total attendance across all matches is the highest of any football league association at 14,508,981. Most stadium habitations were near capacity.

The Premier League ranks number 1 in the UEFA coefficients of leagues due to its performances in European competitions over the past five seasons as of 2021.

The English top-flight has produced the second-rate number of UEFA champions’ leagues/European Cup titles, with five English clubs having won fourteen European trophies all together.

About 50 clubs have competed since the establishment of the Premier League in 1992(48 English clubs and 2 Welsh clubs).

Seven of these clubs have won the title: Manchester United is the most successful premier league club with 13 trophies, Chelsea and Manchester City have won 5 Premier league titles each, Arsenal has won it 3 times while Liverpool, Leicester and Blackburn Rovers have won one EPL title each.

1 thought on “Brief History Of The English Premier League

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *