September 20, 2021


Football and other sports news

Ramos not included in Euro squad

1 min read

Three-time European champions Spain have announced their 26-man squad for the 2020 UEFA European Championship.

On Monday, Spain manager Luis Enrique announced his squad for the Euro 2020 tournament, with captain and record-appearance holder Sergio Ramos a notable absentee after suffering a season-ending hamstring injury with Real Madrid.

Instead, the veteran defender has been replaced in the squad by French-born defender Aymeric Laporte, who was allowed to switch allegiances in the build-up to the tournament due to him holding joint nationality.

Remarkably, Enrique’s squad includes no Real Madrid players, while Manchester City and FC Barcelona are the most represented clubs with three players from each side making the final selection.

Spain’s 26-man squad for Euro 2020:

Goalkeepers: Unai Simon (Athletic Bilbao), David De Gea (Manchester United) & Roberto Sanchez (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Defenders: Jose Gaya (Valencia), Jordi Alba (FC Barcelona), Pau Torres (Villarreal), Aymeric Laporte (Manchester City), Eric Garcia (Manchester City), Diego Llorente (Leeds United), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea) & Marcos Llorente (Atletico Madrid)

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (FC Barcelona), Rodri (Manchester City), Pedri (FC Barcelona), Thiago Alcantara (Liverpool), Koke (Atletico Madrid) &Fabian Ruiz (Napoli)

Forwards: Dani Olmo (RB Leipzig), Mikel Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad), Alvaro Morata (Juventus), Gerard Moreno (Villarreal), Ferran Torres (Manchester City), Adama Traore (Wolverhampton Wanderers) & Pablo Sarabia (Paris Saint-Germain)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Follow by Email